Jazz Band

Marie Watkins, Sponsor/Director
mwatkins[at]lps.k12.co[dot]us
303-734-6361 (Voicemail)

Jazz Band is a year-long activity.  It is open to 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students who have completed at least one year of formal band instruction.  Rhythm section players (bass, guitar, piano, and drum set) must audition for the Jazz Band each fall.  Jazz Band will meet on Tuesday mornings, beginning on Tuesday, September 10th.  Once a student has signed up for jazz band, it is expected that he/she will attend every jazz rehearsal. Please notify Mrs. Watkins in advance if a student must miss a rehearsal. The jazz band enrollment form and rhythm section audition information is available on Mrs. Watkins’ webpage under “Documents for Download.”  Please remember, attendance at rehearsals is REQUIRED except in case of illness or emergency.  Notify Mrs. Watkins by email or phone if a student is going to have to miss a rehearsal.

Remaining Fall 2019 Rehearsal Schedule
Tuesday 12/17/19 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Friday 12/20/19 Perform at 2 School Assemblies at Powell

Spring 2020 Rehearsal Schedule
Tuesday 1/07/20 - No rehearsal - first morning back!
Tuesday 1/14/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Tuesday 1/21/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Tuesday 1/28/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Tuesday 2/04/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Wednesday 2/5/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am rehearsal - LPS Jazz Showcase at Goddard M.S. Students should report to GMS at 5:40pm.  Showcase is from 6 - 8.
Tuesday 2/11/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am  No jazz rehearsal.  Festival Band will rehearse.
Tuesday 2/18/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am  No jazz rehearsal.  Festival Band will rehearse.
Tuesday 2/25/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am  No jazz rehearsal.  Festival Band will rehearse.
Tuesday 3/3/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am  No jazz rehearsal.  Festival Band will rehearse.
Tuesday 3/10/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am  No jazz rehearsal.  Festival Band will rehearse.
Tuesday 3/17/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am  Jazz Band is back!
Wednesday 3/24/20 - No rehearsal (Spring Break)
Tuesday 3/31/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Tuesday 4/7/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am 
Tuesday 4/14/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Tuesday 4/21/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Tuesday 5/5/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Tuesday 5/12/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Wednesday 5/13/20 - Concert Day - Be here at 6:40 pm for warm-up.  Performance will be at 7:00 pm in the cafeteria.
Tuesday 5/19/20 - 7:40 – 8:40 am
Thursday 5/21/20 - 8th Grade Continuation - All members of Jazz Band perform from 1:00-1:30 pm.  Continuation begins at 1:30.

While I make every effort to make this schedule as accurate as possible, sometimes changes are required due to unforeseen circumstances.  I beg your flexibility and understanding should schedule changes be required. Thanks, Mrs. Watkins.