National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Scholars

This year, Arapahoe, Heritage, and Littleton high schools all have students who have been recognized as National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Scholars!

“The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. Approximately 1.5 million high school students enter the program each year” ( Students are entered into the program when they take the PSAT, and the 50,000 highest scorers are notified of their status as either Commended Students or Semifinalists. Semifinalists represent the top 16,000 scorers. Later on in the school year, Finalists will be notified, and winners of Merit Scholarship Awards are selected.

Congratulations to students from each high school on this outstanding achievement!

(An asterisk next to a student's name indicates that they have been named a National Merit Semifinalist. Click photo to enlarge)

Arapahoe High School

Back row, left to right: Henry Greenwood*, Clinton Carafelli, Randolph Lahm,
William Ballard, Samuel Thompson, Abigail Morgan
Front row, left to right: Morgan Hampton, Alicia Keiffer, Sophia Lisco, Angela Weigl, Lillian Shanor, Mitchell Carey*


Heritage High School

Left to right: Hanna Hartzell, Ella Kates, Abigail Lux, Hailey Sloan, Henry Mansfield, Calvin Schroeder*, Mason Helms*, Dawson Davis-Pounders, and Andrew More*
Not pictured: Carolyn Malkoc honored by the National Hispanic Recognition Program


Littleton High School

Left to right: Gwenyth Fitzsimmons*, Ethan Rogers*, and James Landers*