PTO Scholarship Grants support teacher training

Each year in May, the Littleton Public Schools Joint PTO Scholarship Fund awards scholarship grants to support teachers’ continued professional growth. These funds, which are a result of a joint enterprise of all individual LPS schools’ PTOs (Parent/Teacher Organizations), help teachers pay for special training or classes toward an advanced degree. All teachers in LPS are invited to participate, and teachers who meet the requirements are eligible to receive a grant.

This year, 11 LPS teachers from across the district were awarded scholarships. LPS Superintendent Brian Ewert presented scholarship recipients with their Joint PTO Scholarship Fund grants during a reception held May 3, 2017.

2017 Joint PTO Scholarship recipients are:

  • Lisa Banks-Highland Elementary School
  • Meghan Gausman-Peabody Elementary School
  • Margaret Granat-Runyon Elementary School
  • Jeremy Hayes-Goddard Middle School
  • Amanda Hurley-Heritage High School
  • Jill McCormick-Heritage High School
  • Rebecca Monson-Arapahoe High School
  • Debbie Sabato-Centennial Academy of Fine Arts
  • Elizabeth Sise-Runyon Elementary School
  • Sarah Slaght-Twain Elementary School
  • Tina Verbsky-Highland Elementary School

The LPS Joint PTO Scholarship Committee has been helping teachers cover training costs since 1958. It has been the Committee’s objective to help improve instruction for students by helping teachers get the training they need.

“This program is so special because it is funded with PTO funds, not district funds,” said LPS Director of Communications Diane Leiker. “Parents value continuing education opportunities for teachers. PTOs see how these opportunities translate into richer experiences for students in the classroom. It’s a wonderful partnership that we as a community are very proud of.”  Thank you to members of the PTO Scholarship Committee for their continued support of our teachers!