How Does the Law Effect Potential Drivers?
Effective August 11, 2010, Colorado law for obtaining a “Minors Instruction Permit” is:
As of August 11, 2010, any person under age 16 1/2 must complete 6 hours of "behind the wheel" training with a state-approved driver education instructor, before applying for a license.
Minors must also keep and submit a log of at least 50 hours of driving experience, 10 of which must be night driving. The Driver Education instructor may sign off 6 hours.
License Restrictions as of July 1, 2005
Under 18 years old: you may not have any passengers under 21 until you have had your license for 6 months, and you may not have more than one (1) passenger under 21 until you have had your license for 1 year.
For more information, visit the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles website.
15 years to 16 years of age
Learner's Permit - at 15 years of age if the student is enrolled in a department approved driver's education program and has the signature of a parent/legal guardian.
16 years of age to 17 years 6 months
Driver's License - 16 years old is the earliest age at which a driver's license may be issued to a teenager who has successfully completed driver's education.
Learner's Permit - at 15 years 6 months of age if student has successfully completed an approved 4-hour prequalification driver awareness program and has parent/legal guardian signature.
16 years 6 months to 17 years 6 months
Driver's License - 16 years 6 months is the earliest age at which a driver's license may be issued to a teenager who has successfully completed an approved driver awareness course.
Learner's Permit - at 16 years of age with parent/legal guardian signature, no driver education required.
Driver's License - 17 years is the earliest age a driver's license may be issued to a teenager without driver's education.