How Does the Law Effect Potential Drivers?
Effective August 11, 2010, Colorado law for obtaining a “Minors Instruction Permit” is:
- When you are 16 years old, you can simply apply for a “Minors Instruction Permit” at the DMV.
- When you are 15 years, 6 months, you must take a 4 hour Driver Awareness Course. (DDC-4), or you must complete a 30 hour Driver Education course (classroom, internet, or home study).
- When you are 15 years old, you must complete a 30 hour driver education course (classroom, internet, or home study). All permits must be held for at least 1 year, before applying for a “Minors License”.
As of August 11, 2010 any person under age 16 1/2 must complete 6 hours of "behind the wheel" training with a state approved driver education instructor, before applying for a license.
Minors must also keep and submit a log of at least 50 hours of driving experience, 10 of which must be night driving. The Driver Education instructor may sign off 6 hours.
License Restrictions as of July 1, 2005
Under 18 years old: you may not have any passengers under 21 until you have had your license for 6 months And, you may not have more than one (1) passenger under 21 until you have had your license for 1 year.
- If your parent or guardian is in the car with you, or
- If there is an adult passenger in the car, 21 or older, who is currently holding a valid license for at least 1 year.
- If the passenger under 21 needs emergency medical assistance, or
- If the passengers under 21 are immediate family members.
For more information, visit the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicleswebsite.